Voting today in the local elections

Turnout was slow this morning according to the team at the Causeway voting station. You have until 22:00 to cast your local vote.

Polling Station

Polling Station

Online Cashback


June 8th General Election Update

Further to the previous post Horsham District Council has now published information regarding the forthcoming General Election. It’s too early for any names to be thrown in the hat. You can use this link but the current information is copied below:

8 June 2017 – Parliamentary General Election

The timetable for the Parliamentary General Election is as follows:

  • Nominations must be delivered by hand between 10am and 4pm from 9 to 11 May 2017
  • Electors who will be on holiday on 8 June 2017 are advised to apply for a postal vote or appoint a proxy in accordance with the deadlines below.
  • Deadline for registering to vote is Monday 22 May.
  • Deadline for submitting postal vote application forms is 5pm on Tuesday 23 May 2017
  • Deadline for submitting proxy vote application forms is 5pm on Wednesday 31 May 2017
  • The official notices will appear below in due course.

As with the last General Election in May 2015 this site will seek to photograph all of the candidates and link out to their respective websites.

Online Cashback

The Barn aka Polling Station

The Denne area residents use The Barn in the Causeway as a Polling Station. Here it is on May 7th 2015 serving the General Election and the local Horsham District Council election too. The candidates for the General Election are listed on a post on this blog together with photographs of four of them. If you are reading this on the day of the vote you have until 10:00 pm to cast your vote.

Online Cashback

General Election – Horsham Result

In what has to be one of the least surprising results of the night the Conservative candidate Jeremy Quinn has succeeded Francis Maude as the MP for Horsham. He polled 57% of the votes.

Jeremy Quinn

Jeremy Quinn, Conservative

The results in detail are:

  • Jeremy Quin (Con): 32,627
  • Roger Arthur (UKIP): 7,969
  • Morwen Millson (Lib Dem): 6,647
  • Martyn Davis (Lab): 6,499
  • Darrin Green (Green Party): 2,198 (lost deposit)
  • James Smith (Something New): 375 (lost deposit)
  • Jim Duggan (Peace Party): 307 (lost deposit)
  • Jim Rae (ind): 303 (lost deposit)

Online Cashback